La Porte Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Lakeshore Flood Advisory
Statement as of 9:51 AM CDT on October 31, 2014

...Lakeshore Flood Advisory remains in effect until 5 am EDT /4 am CDT/ Saturday...

A Lakeshore Flood Advisory remains in effect until 5 am EDT /4 am CDT/ Saturday.

Very strong north winds over Lake Michigan will cause 10 to 20 foot waves along the shoreline today and tonight which will cause some beach erosion and minor Lakeshore flooding. The waves will also frequently wash over piers and breakwalls. To avoid being swept into the Deep Lake waters... do not venture onto piers or breakwalls today or tonight.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A Lakeshore Flood Advisory indicates that onshore winds will generate flooding of low areas along the Lakeshore.

High Wind Warning
Statement as of 11:06 AM CDT on October 31, 2014

...High Wind Warning in effect until 11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ this evening...

The National Weather Service in northern Indiana has issued a High Wind Warning...which is in effect until 11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ this evening. The Wind Advisory is no longer in effect.

Hazardous weather...

* timing...today through this evening.

* Winds...northwest 30 to 45 mph with gusts as high as 60 mph.

Impacts...

* driving will likely be very difficult at times...especially for higher profile vehicles.

* Small to medium sized tree branches may be brought down.

* Power outages will be possible.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A High Wind Warning means a hazardous high wind event is expected or occurring. Sustained wind speeds of at least 40 mph or gusts of 58 mph or more can lead to property damage.